PRIZE

of the INSTITUTE for NUCLEAR RESEARCH of the RUSSIAN ACADEMY of SCIENCES NAMED AFTER ACADEMICIAN M.A.MARKOV

REGULATIONS

The Academician M.A.Markov Prize was established by the Institute for Nuclear Research of the Russian Academy of Sciences in memory of the merits of *Moses Alexandrovich Markov*, an outstanding scientist and one of the founders of the Institute.

The prize is awarded annually to an employee of the Institute (or a group of employees) for a major contribution to fundamental physics and the development of research in the main areas of the Institute's scientific program.

The decision to award the Prize is made on the birthday of Academician M.A.Markov (May 13) the Academic Council of the Institute on the recommendation of the expert commission and is issued by the order of the Director of the Institute.

The Award winner is awarded a diploma of the Award.

The M.A.Markov Prize is usually nominated individually by the Institute's employees, or a group (no more than three) of the Institute's employees, as well as other Russian and foreign scientific centers.

The right to nominate candidates for consideration by the expert commission belongs to the members of the Russian Academy of Sciences, as well as academic councils or scientific and technical councils.

A motivated submission of the candidate for the award is submitted to the expert commission, including, in accordance with this regulation, a description of the candidate's specific contribution to fundamental physics and the development of research in the main areas of the Institute's scientific program.

The deadline for submitting a submission to the expert commission is annually from January 1 to March 1 inclusive.

The composition of the expert commission is approved by the order of the Director of the Institute.

The members of the expert commission nominated for the Award have the right to refrain from participating in the work of the commission.

The amount of the Award is determined annually taking into account the current size of the nominal awards of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

Director of the INR RAS Academician

A. lester V.A.Matveev

January 2002